Winners of 2017-18 Club Awards Announced

The winners of this year’s club awards were announced at the Annual End of Season Dinner on Saturday. The awards were nominated by club members to recognise the achievements of members in the 2017-18 season.

Recognising the most improved male beginner, new to the sport in the last 12 months, The Geoff Rice Cup was awarded to Akos Boda. Akos has been one of the most consistent attendees at sessions and has show great progress since joining the club.

The Muriel More Trophy was awarded to Sarah Jellard. The award recognises the most improved female beginner, new the the sport in the last year. Awarding the trophy to Sarah is recognition of her enthusiasm and wish to improve which has now resulted in her joining the ladies senior squad.

The Will Tankard recognises the most improved male rower and this year was awarded to Dave Moody. Progressing from indoor rowing Dave has racked up an number of wins in a number of squads and progressed from Learn to Row to representing the Club at Henley Royal Regatta in one year.

The Brian Penn Trophy was this year warded to Katie Swaine in recognition of the massive progress she has made this year.

The Mervyn Ash Memorial Trophy is awarded to the coxswain of the year. This years recipient, Tess Gilligan, has developed her coxing skills greatly with both the senior and intermediate squads throughout the year and is now looking forward to working with the ladies crews this coming season.

Recognising the most successful sculler , The Prospect Inn Trophy, was jointly awarded to Ed Fuller and Tom Shipton. This year Ed has won gold in the JIRR and the Scullery as well as 2 golds at the Junior Championship in a pair. He has also amassed 19 other sculling wins this season in both BR and WEARA competitions. Tom has had an equally successful year in the lower age categories also achieving gold at JIRR, a gold and a silver at Junior Championships and 21 other sculling wins, 8 in singles, 7 in doubles and 6 in quads.

The Kevin Dentith Tankard recognises the coach of the year. This years recipient was Dave Brooks. Dave, alongside Sue contribute greatly to the running of the club’s successful Junior Programme but is also willing to help rowers and scullers across the club to improve.

The Douglas Crosse Trophy recognises the most successful regatta four. This year the club recognised two crews who have been equally successful in the WEARA Championship. The Women’s J16 4x+ are of Abbie Johnson, Frankie Bonfield, Lara Hutchings, Ella O’Brien, Jasmin Stanbury and the Men’s J14 4x+ of Megan Hunter, Samuel Wickham, Issac Otter, Jacob Otter, Tommy Fuller and Tom Shipton. Both crews were coxed by Lucy Doble.

The Crab Trophy, recognises the rower with the best crab of the year, which was awarded to Hollie Creasy who caught a huge crab at Wimbleball regatta. Despite this the crew pulled through and won the race.

Finally, The Dennis King Tankard, recognises the all round clubman (or woman) of the year. This year it was awarded to Diana Parrish who helps many other club members this year, and was recognised by a large number of other club members.

Posted in Uncategorized.